什么是BIC和SWIFT 代码?

在进行跨境收付款时,BIC代码和SWIFT代码是有必要熟悉的术语。简而言之,它们是一串在进行国际支付时用来识别每一家银行的特殊代码。

了解哪里可以找到SWIFT/BIC代码以及如何使用它们非常重要,可防止你犯下代价高昂的错误。

通常,用错误的BIC/SWIFT代码往国外汇款会令你的资金在国际银行网络中的某处丢失,而重新找回这些资金可能需要几天甚至几周的时间,此外,银行在协助你找回资金时会收取一定的费用(最低50美元)。

以下是SWIFT/BIC代码的一切相关信息。

你还可以观看我们的视频:

什么是SWIFT代码?

让我们先来了解一些背景信息。

SWIFT是指环球同业银行金融电讯协会。该组织成立于1973年,旨在让银行和其他金融机构之间能够安全地处理国际支付。

SWIFT网络遍布212个国家/地区,拥有10,000多名成员,是全球最大的国际支付网络。

SWIFT网络成员会使用SWIFT代码在不同国家/地区的帐户之间安全地进行转账。每个SWIFT代码都包含一些标准化信息,以便银行确保将你的资金安全地转入收款人的银行帐户。

在理解SWIFT代码的用途时,可将其与地址邮编进行类比。如果国际邮编错误或缺失,则发送到该地址的所有信件都将永远无法送达。同样地,如果转账时使用了错误的SWIFT代码,那么也无法完成转账。

SWIFT代码是什么样的?

SWIFT代码仅由一些字母和数字组成,但是SWIFT网络中的银行可以通过它们掌握所有相关信息,准确无误地完成国际支付。

这些代码格式相同,长度均为8或11个字符。

如此所示,我们以不同的颜色来表示SWIFT代码中的字母组合:什么是BIC和SWIFT 代码? 2

最后3位数表示分行代码,为可选补充项,对主要的8位SWIFT代码进行补充。如果省略分行代码,则你的转帐将直接通过相关银行总部进行处理和转移。

什么是BIC代码?

BIC代码与SWIFT代码完全相同。实际上,使用SWIFT代码这个术语有些不准确,因为我们所说的SWIFT代码实际上是指BIC代码。

现在,让我们再来了解一些背景信息,有助于我们更好地理解BIC等同于SWIFT的理由。

建立SWIFT网络后,其成员认为有必要以标准化的方式识别对方,以促进国际支付的发展。为此,创建了银行识别代码,该代码通常缩写为“BIC”。因此,本质上,该组织SWIFT从技术上为SWIFT网络的每一个银行成员指定了一个BIC。

随着SWIFT网络不断发展,其创建的代码(即BIC)最终以该组织的名称(即SWIFT)命名。同样地,Kleenex、Escalator和Thermos最初也是公司名称,但现在已经成为了指代其产品的通用术语。

因此,不要对BIC和SWIFT感到困惑,其实它们含义相同,可以互换使用。在许多情况下,你会看到BIC代码、SWIFT代码、BIC/SWIFT代码、SWIFT/BIC代码或SWIFT ID,实际上都是相同的代码。

了解更多BIC代码的相关信息,请参阅SWIFT指南

在哪里可以找到BIC和SWIFT代码?

为方便起见,在银行的电子和纸质帐户对帐单上都包含有你的BIC/SWIFT代码。

如果你在给他人转账时需要搜寻其SWIFT代码,则最简单的方法就是使用在线的SWIFT/BIC工具。

输入详细信息,例如国家/地区、银行和位置,随后在线SWIFT代码工具将为你识别出正确的代码。为了保障100%安全,请核对三遍你找到的收款人代码。

你可以使用以下其中一个值得信赖的SWIFT/BIC工具搜索代码:

何时使用BIC/SWIFT代码?

每次进行跨境收付款时,你都需要使用一个SWIFT/BIC代码来确保资金安全及时地转入收款人的账户。

因此,你应该将自己银行帐户的SWIFT/BIC代码与其他银行帐户详细信息一起保存好,以便提供给需要付款的一方。反之亦然,在支付前,你应始终都需要收款人提供其SWIFT/BIC代码。

请记住,使用SWIFT/BIC网络进行任何转帐时都会产生一定的费用和汇率问题。使用该系统的一个缺点是,在进行转帐时,你通常很难知道费用的具体金额。

使用Statrys完成境外付款,不但在相应费用和汇率方面完全透明,而且跟一般银行相比,可以省钱。

在进行国际转帐之前,请查看我们的国际支付指南以了解更多详细信息,因为一些国家/地区可能需要其他银行代码。


关于创始人

Jonathan Cusimano是Statrys的外汇部主管,拥有接近十年在银行业和金融科技的经验,已为许多中小型企业提供外汇对冲交易及资金管理的重点策略和专业意见。

Topics:支付

What Are BIC And SWIFT Codes?

Jonathan Cusimano
Published: 05 Dec 2019

BIC and SWIFT codes are essential terminology to be acquainted with if you are sending or receiving cross-border payments. To put it simply, they are unique codes that identify each and every bank for the purpose of international payments.

Knowing where to find and how to use a SWIFT/BIC is indispensable and will prevent you from making costly mistakes.

Typically, sending money abroad with the wrong BIC/SWIFT will cause your funds to be lost somewhere in the international banking network, and getting your hands back on them could take anywhere between a few days to several weeks, plus the fees charged by your bank to assist you in this operation (account for a USD 50 minimum spend for this).

Below you will find everything you need to know about SWIFT/BIC codes.

You can also watch our video:

What is a SWIFT code?

Let’s begin by getting a bit of background information.

SWIFT stands for the Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication. An organisation set up in 1973, whose purpose is to enable banks and other financial institutions to process international payments securely between themselves.

The SWIFT network has more than 10,000 members located in 212 countries, making it the largest international payment network worldwide.

Members of the SWIFT network use SWIFT codes to move money securely between accounts that are located in different countries. Each SWIFT code consists of standardised information your bank needs to make sure that your money reaches the bank account of your beneficiary safely.

A good analogy to understand the utility of SWIFT codes is to think of zip/postal code in an address. If this international postal code is incorrect or missing, any letter sent to this address will never arrive. The same thing applies if your money is transferred using the wrong SWIFT code.

What does a SWIFT code look like?

SWIFT codes may be constituted of only a few letters and numbers, but they tell banks within the SWIFT network everything they need to know to execute international payments correctly.

These codes all follow the same format, they are 8 or 11 characters long.

Demonstrated here, we used different colours to define the combination of letters within a SWIFT code:

SWIFT code Format

The last 3 digits representing the branch code are an optional addition that can supplement the main 8-character SWIFT. Your transfer will be directed and channelled through the relevant bank’s head office if you leave the branch code off.

What is a BIC code?

BIC code is exactly the same as SWIFT code. Using the term SWIFT code is actually somewhat inaccurate as what we call a SWIFT code is, in reality, a BIC code.

Again, let’s have a look at some background information that will help us better understand why BIC and SWIFT are the same things.

When the SWIFT network was established, their members determined it was necessary to identify each of them in a standardised manner to facilitate international payments. And to achieve that goal, they created the Bank Identifier Code, which is most commonly known as its abbreviated form “BIC”. So essentially, SWIFT, the organisation, technically appoints a BIC to each bank member of the SWIFT network

As the SWIFT network has kept on growing, their invention, i.e. the BIC, eventually get referred to by the name of the organisation, i.e. SWIFT. The same way Kleenex, Escalator and Thermos were originally the name of companies and have become generic terms to refer to the products they invented.

So, don’t get confused by BIC and SWIFT as they mean the same thing and can be used interchangeably. In many cases, you will see the same code referred to as BIC, SWIFT, BIC/SWIFT code, SWIFT/BIC code or SWIFT ID.

For more information about the BIC code, refer to this guide provided by SWIFT.

Where can you find BIC and SWIFT codes?

To make things easy, banks include your BIC/SWIFT code on your account statements, both online and offline.

If you are searching for a SWIFT code to send money to someone else, the simplest way to retrieve their SWIFT code is by using an online SWIFT/BIC tool.

Put in details such as the country, bank and location, and then the online SWIFT code tool will identify the correct one for you. To be 100% safe, triple-check the code you have found with the recipient.

You can use one of these trustworthy SWIFT/BIC tools to do your search:

When do you use a BIC/SWIFT code?

You will need a SWIFT/BIC code each time you receive or make a cross-border payment to ensure the funds will reach their destination safely and timely.

So, you should keep the SWIFT/BIC code of your bank account handy so you may give it, with other bank account details, to the persons you are expecting payment from. Vice versa, you should always ask your recipients to provide their SWIFT/BIC code before you instruct payment to them.

Keep in mind that fees and exchange rates will apply on any transfers made using the SWIFT/BIC network. One of the drawbacks of using this system is that it is often difficult to know exactly what these costs are at the time you place the transfer.

Using Statrys for your overseas payment will give you full transparency on applicable fees and exchange rates and can get you savings compared to your usual bank.

Before making an international transfer, check our international payment guide for more details as you may need additional bank codes for some countries.

author
Jonathan Cusimano

Jonathan Cusimano is Head of FX at Statrys. With nearly a decade of experience in banking and Fintech, Jonathan has advised and assisted many SMEs in their FX hedging and treasury management strategies.

Subscribe &Stay Involved!